The afternoon after I finished my exams I went to the book shop and did some perfect guilt free browsing. I then came home and literally devoured this book in two sittings. It’s been a very long time since a story has kept me up until the early hours of the morning, but that Saturday night I was to be found in my bed sobbing my little heart out at 2:30am. Tragic but true!

This is the story of Hazel and Augustus, they are both cancer kids and first bump into each other at Support Group. Emotionally they seem old beyond their years, they have both been through so much. But falling in love with each other gives them back some of their innocent childishness…’as he read, I feel in love like you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once’…it’s a chance to laugh and play and take risks (with just a few hospital visits thrown in between).

It is a story that is real and raw, and the dark humor will make you laugh at times when you think you probably shouldn’t be. But it’s life and we do laugh, and then later we cry. Markus Zusak was right when he said it is ‘A novel of life and death and the people caught in between’ – we are all the people caught in between there somewhere and I think anyone will find something within the pages of this book that will stay with them.

A love story for a valentines weekend. I think you should all read this book, whoever you are, wherever you are…although if you are an audiobook nerd (guilty), I would advise not listening in the car (yes Mum, I’m talking to you!)!

Happy reading xxx

ps. Picture comes from pinterest.

